The Hazards Tales of Hope and Courage The Wrecks Saving the Wrecks Wrecks Game Home
Graveyard of the PacificSee more of the Virtual Museum of Canada
Image of lighthouseThe Shipwrecks of Vancouver IslandNavigation
The Hazards

Geography and Navigation

Vancouver Island’s coastal geography has played an important role in shipwreck history. The coast was shaped by glaciers and spurs that created steep drop-offs, rock shoals and headlands. Vessels can come in very close to the rocks because the deep waters reach right up to the shore. With a sand or mud bottom, vessels can scrape but do little damage, but hitting a rock bottom is like hitting an iceberg.

Many shipwrecks on the coast are caused because vessels can not regain their ‘sea room’ before being blown up on the rocks. Strong currents and the ebb and flow of the tide can increase the danger caused by submerged rocks. Many ships attempting to navigate a narrow channel are forced out of position and are damaged by hidden underwater pinnacles, reefs, rocks and outcroppings. In 1967, the Queen of Prince Rupert went up on Haddington Reef, just outside of Alert Bay. Several years later, the bottom was ripped open after an attempt to go through Gunboat Passage on the wrong side of the buoy.

Geographical hazards can be avoided by using navigational aids, such as bouys and lights that mark obstacles and dangerous areas. Navigational charts made by the Canadian Hydrographic Service are also very important. During navigational training, there is extensive work with these charts. Navigators learn to read these specialised nautical maps, and to chart hazards themselves.

Today, mariners rely on navigational tools such as parallel indexing, which works with the radar. This is very much like setting an electronic curb feeler along the side of the ship so that the vessel does not come inside a pre-set minimum distance from the shore or the navigational hazard.

Icon Ring

Site MapCreditsFeedbackBibliographyFrancaisCopyright 2004 Maritime Museum of BC

Les dangers Récits d’espoir et de courage Les naufrages Sauvetage des épaves Jeu de naufrages Accueil
Le Cimetière du PacifiquePour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada
Les dangersLes naufrages de l'île de VancouverNavigation
Les dangers

Géographie et navigation

La géographie de la côte de l’île de Vancouver a joué un rôle important dans l’histoire des naufrages. Les glaciers et les éperons rocheux ont formé la côte en créant des falaises abruptes, des bas-fonds rocheux et des promontoires. Les vaisseaux peuvent venir très près des rochers, car les eaux sont profondes jusqu’à la rive. Les vaisseaux peuvent se frotter sur un fond de sable ou de boue sans faire beaucoup de dommages. Par contre, frapper un fond rocheux est comme frapper un iceberg.

Plusieurs naufrages sur la côte sont causés par l’impossibilité des vaisseaux de reprendre la mer avant d’être poussé sur les rochers par le vent. De forts courants ainsi que le reflux et le flux des marées peuvent augmenter les dangers causés par les rochers submergés. Plusieurs navires essayant de naviguer dans un canal étroit sont forcés hors de position et endommagés par des pics, des récifs, des rochers et des affleurements cachés sous la surface de l’eau. En 1967, le Queen of Prince Rupert s’est abîmé sur le récif Haddington, au large d’Albert Bay. Quelques années plus tard, on a éventré le fond du navire en tentant de passer par Gunboat Passage du mauvais côté de la bouée.

On peut éviter les dangers géographiques en utilisant des aides à la navigation telles que des bouées et des lumières qui marquent les obstacles et les zones dangereuses. Les cartes de navigation sont également très importantes. Durant la formation en navigation, beaucoup de travail est fait en utilisant ces cartes. Les navigateurs apprennent à lire ces cartes nautiques spécialisées et à porter eux-mêmes les dangers sur les cartes.

De nos jours, les marins comptent sur des outils de navigation tels que l’indexage parallèle, qui fonctionne avec le radar. C’est très semblable à l’installation d’un détecteur de bordures électronique le long du navire pour que le vaisseau n’entre pas à l’intérieur d’une distance minimum prédéterminée d’une rive ou d’un danger de navigation.

Plan du siteCréditsCommentairesBibliographieEnglishCopyright 2004 Musée maritime de la C.-B.